Our guards Luis and Santiago Recalde climb into the trees with a troop of Woolly Monkeys!

In my last post I mentioned that our Woolly Monkeys have lost their fear of humans since we began to protect the Rio Zunac watershed. The photos in that post showed how calm they were during that encounter with two of our reserve guards, Luis and Santiago Recalde.

Yesterday I received the videos they made during that encounter, and even I am surprised at how relaxed the monkeys look. They were so relaxed that Luis and Santiago climbed into the trees with them to get better video! I’m not sure which behavior surprises me the most in this encounter, our guards’ or the monkeys’. It is amazing that they were able to do this, and that the monkeys let them. The result is some very nice video.

Luis made many short videos (more than 20) with lots of abrupt camera movements (what do you expect from someone hanging in a tree?), so it will take a lot of editing before I put it all up. His camera battery was nearly dead so the camera kept turning off while he was filming. While I am editing it all together, you can look at my favorite cut from his video:

Lou Jost

2 thoughts on “Our guards Luis and Santiago Recalde climb into the trees with a troop of Woolly Monkeys!

  1. Pingback: Traveling in the trees with Woolly Monkeys | Fundacion EcoMinga

Leave a Reply

